Innovation. Ideas. Insight.

Is Your Brand A Fancy Soap?

In Insight on December 11, 2008 at 10:14 am

Fancy soap is nice, isn’t it? It smells nice, comes in a fancy package, looks great in the guest bathroom.  Sure, it costs a little more, but it’s a reasonable indulgence. I was looking at our fancy soap the other day. It’s called Il Frutteto di Nesti and it’s made it Italy (pretty fancy, huh?) by Nesti Dante s.r.l. We have two bars, one is Peach and Melon, the other is Citron and Bergamot. I imagine they do a lovely job of cleaning my hands and/or face, but I don’t really know. We’ve had them for months, but we’ve never opened them. Why? They’re too fancy!

We don’t want to use them, because they look so nice and they seem like such a luxury. What makes this even more ridiculous, I bet we picked them up at Home Goods or Marshall’s for $2 a bar. Or maybe we got them as a gift for picking up our neighbor’s mail while they were away.

Not too fancy, fancy soap

Not too fancy, fancy soap

Whatever the case, the point is we own a product we refuse to use. Now, compare that too a another fancy soap brand, L’Occitane. Also very fancy, but not too fancy.  We love their products and use ‘em up. The Verbena Cleansing Handwash retails for $16(!), but we went through a couple of bottles. Maybe it’s because it comes in a pump jar – that’s not too fancy.

It’s interesting to note the differences between the two companies websites as well. Nesti Dante’s was too fancy for me. It was difficult to save a picture from the website. L’Occitane was easy and much more sales focused.

As a result, I’ve never mentioned Nesti Dante soap to anyone or had a conversation about it – I don’t know what it feels like, or how it really smells. But my wife and I talk about L’Occitane – to each other and to friends – rather frequently.

It’s ok to be a fancy soap, but becareful that you aren’t too fancy.

  1. Where does beer soap fit in on this spectrum? http://www.beerrunner.draftmag.com.

  2. How ironic you would write this! I am a soapmaker myself and constantly have people telling me that they only display my goodies rather than use them – due to their artistic element. You are referring to some REALLY high dollar brands. I don’t think I even compare to them but…. I like to say; you only live once, indulge yourself! I can make more. :)

  3. Cindy, the Raspberry Deelite looks terrific.

  4. Dear Rick,

    Thank you so much for including L’Occitane in your blog entry! We’re so happy that you’re enjoying our Verbena Hand Soap and fear not, we won’t get too fancy on you any time soon. =)

    Thank you so much and have a wonderful holiday season!

    All the best,
    Sophia, L’Occitane USA
    http://usa.loccitane.com

  5. Dear Rick…You should definitely use those bars of Nesti Dante’s Il Frutteto soaps. You won’t find a better, more natural bar anywhere and they may change your life – you’ll never view soap the same anymore! They run $9 a bar (maybe upper-mid-range, as far as imported soaps go, not “too fancy”)and you won’t find them at a discounter, but you also don’t need to hoard them like they are gold, either – since they can be found through a network of independent retailers across the U.S.A. Appreciate the very kind words about the wonderful looks and smell, but they are meant for more as a room freshener….they are best for the body! Open and try them and I would be happy to send you a couple of replacements to keep around for show! But be warned, you WILL be telling your friends ALL about them, once you do…

  6. [...] Consumer Engagement and Fancy Soap In Insight on April 27, 2009 at 2:37 pm Back in November I wrote about some Il Frutteto di Nesti soap we have in our house and the fact that we had never actually [...]

  7. [...] to say, I asked Shelley if it would be OK if I entered 1,000 times, since I love cool soaps (and fancy soaps, too, RL), but to be fair I could only get one shot.  Well, toss me in the shower and pat me dry, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

