Innovation. Ideas. Insight.

The Blog That Cried Wolf

In Ideas on July 21, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Rohit Bhargava (pictured left), author of the always excellent Influential Marketing Blog today posted about something he calls Egommunication, the practice of throwing “shout outs” to the powerful members of the Web 2.0 universe (people like Peter Rojas, Greg Verdino or Susan Reynolds) as an alternative, and often more effective, way of getting their attention. These people are acutely aware of when they are being mentioned on blogs, twitter, etc. and will quite possibly follow your Siren call back to your blog.

One of Rohit’s commenters, Nicolas Maisonneuve, had a cautionary post on this sort of thing which he termed “Artificial Attention Spamming.” 

As a relatively new blogger I can see the lure of egommunication. I would love Rohit, Chris Brogan, Mitch JoelAlan Wolk or some of my other Facebook friends to check me out. But intuitively I know that the communication has to be authentic to be lasting. Can an authentic relationship begin with an ‘inauthentic’ meeting? Yes, I think that it can in some cases. I’m not looking to sell no-down payment home loans or products guaranteed to increase anyone’s sexual pleasure. And these people will ultimately still have the power to decide if a relationship can be started. They come to Eyecube, like what they see and leave a comment or link to this post or add me to their blogroll. Or they look around and decide its not for them. I hope (believe) that there will be some content here they will like, but with so many blogs in the marketing/branding/social media universe, sometimes you have to shout a little louder (or in a different language) to grab attention.

  1. Interesting idea about Attention spamming! I don’t think it is all about attention seeking and spam though. Some bloggers, particularly the newer ones, take inspiration from the established blogs and take pleasure in their ability to link to them, quote them and learn from them. However, I believe that if you write good stuff, people will find it – though you have to be patient and wait for things to gradually grow over time.

    There are also some really genuine people out there who chase down every link and comment. Early in my blogging career I name checked Technorati founder David Siffry. Within hours he had found my post, left a comment saying that he had enjoyed it and thanked me for writing about him. This was a really nice touch and was one of the things that gave me the inspiration to continue blogging. I still don’t know where its all going to end up, but every day I meet new people and learn new things – and as a result of your post here I have now added your blog to my blogroll too!🙂

  2. Hi Rick,
    I am going to run a quick “attention spam” test post on m-cause as well this evening…even if 0 of the guys you mentioned made a comment thus far, hopefully they discovered you at least!

    Like the blog & great post…keep up the good work.

    –Ryan Jones

  3. You got it – I am checking you out and I am subscribed.

    Looking good so far.

  4. I certainly think that at a beginning of a project you have to shout a little. But this shouting should wane as more and more people check you out and are impressed by whatever it is you offer. And then you reach a point where you don’t have to shout at all but just focus completely on what it is you do / offer.

  5. […] are others who question this practice and wonder if egommunication is really just another form of  […]

Leave a Reply

