Innovation. Ideas. Insight.

What Marketers Can Learn From Fantasy Football #1

In TSMWIF on August 8, 2008 at 8:22 pm

The NFL is, by general consensus, the best run professional sports league in the States. It generates billions of dollars in revenue, has huge television contracts and in the Super Bowl, has one of the last mass cultural shared experiences left in our fragmented world.

Fantasy sports is itself a billion dollar business and in many ways brings fans as close to being part of the NFL as they are going to get.  I’ve never been much of a fantasy sports fan, but I think marketers could learn something from it. An activity that creates a deep consumer connection is worth exploring and something like this can only be explored from participating.

I’ll look forward to sharing my learnings, and hopefully insights, throughout the season. If you’d like to join me, respond in the comments below or email me directly [sportspr at yahoo dot com] with your name and email address and I’ll send you an invite.

  1. I know for me fantasy football brought me from a casual fan to a consumer of all things NFL. From the NFL Network to team gear. You’ve got to watch and learn about all the teams, not just your favorite.

    While your home team only has a 1 in 32 chance of winning the Super Bowl, your fantasy team has a much better chance of winning your Fantasy Bowl. And those bragging rights among your family, friends and co-workers can be much more satisfying that your home team winning the big game.

Leave a Reply

