Innovation. Ideas. Insight.

Cricket – the bubbling sports trend of 2008

In TSMWIF on November 6, 2008 at 9:49 am

Longtime readers of Eyecube (both of you) know of my interest and enthusiasm for cricket, especially as a potential trend here in America. Well, this week Sports Illustrated jumped on the bandwagon, with an article on the Washington Cricket League. Here’s a couple of interesting stats from the article:

  • There are about 50,000 active cricket players in the U.S.
  • There are 750 registered cricket clubs in the U.S.

Ok, those numbers aren’t going to get it to surpass football or baseball anytime soon. But if you could target 50,000 people who are extremely passionate about the same thing, and are most certainly extremely under-served by the marketing community, well there is potential there.

  1. Hi Rick,

    Could you please drop me a note at:

    pam@zathlete.com

    with your contact information? Thank you.

  2. Hi there,

    Just come across your site when I was searching for other cricket blogs on Google. Your site is one I would definetly consider to having a high standard, I can say I would defiently be reading it from time to time!

    I also have a cricket site of my own I would highly recommend you having a look at. It is called “Cricket, the Brilliant Game” and the web address for it is http://www.whoplayscricket.com. If you are also interested in doing a link exchange with me feel free to email your site’s details to my email at whoplayscricket@gmail.com, and when you add my site please use the following details:

    Site Name: Cricket, the Brilliant Game!

    Web Address: http://www.whoplayscricket.com

    Also email me when you have added me so I can add your site on mine promptly.

    Cheers!

    Rob

    http://www.whoplayscricket.com

Leave a Reply

